Uncategorized

Run Seventy Seven

I am tired. I am sore. My eyelids are heavy and I don’t think I will leave my couch. Ever. True to form though I am SO HAPPY about the run I completed today! That’s the view from the top.

A friend and I have been talking about running this particular trail for a year now, but one thing or the other always got in the way until today.  

Our bid was to go basically up and over one mountain, down the other side and link up to a path to another much steeper mountain, get to the top, not die and run back down and loop around the base of the first mountain to head home. The climb looks something like this.

The total horizontal distance was 29k and vertical over two kilometres!!! That’s 7,145 feet climbed! WOO-HOO!!! 

There was some walking getting up the second mountain but whenever possible we ran. 

Some beautiful scenery, clear blue sky and perfect temperature.

An unhappy mountain goat! Did not like her Strawberry flavoured energy gel. Mountain goat says yuk! 

Yeah, I don’t know what’s going on there. Directing traffic? Hula dancing? Looking fabulous? Who knows.

Trail shot.

Is this the road we should be on?? This one!? 

I think we’re lost. LOST!!! 

Sometimes the GPS acts up in the mountains and you can’t be quite sure if you are where you should be. It worked out after a couple kilometers! 

All in all it was an awesome run and I look forward to doing it again and adding a climb back up and down the first mountain on the return trip!! Might wait a couple weeks before going again. 

Discovered a treasure trove of honey bees on the way home. Wasn’t brave enough to scoop any honey out though.

Happy trails everybody! I am one tired mountain goat but soooo happy we did it! 

14 thoughts on “Run Seventy Seven

Leave a Reply

