Uncategorized

Run Eighty Five!

The perfect day to break a PB! For months now I have been trying, to no avail, to break the 2 hour mark for a half marathon run. My best time was 2:02:03 admittedly, I managed to shave a half minute here and there along the way. Well, after all this time I did it!! In fact I pulverised it!! Seven minutes off! 

I kept looking at my watch in complete disbelief! I even let out a very loud “hells yes!” and startled a poor woman who was starting her own run.

Why now? Why 7 freaking minutes? I am not sure but I will put three things into this great big win column. First, no alcohol for three weeks. Second, more plant based protein. Third, MOUNTAIN, tons of it! Oh I will add fourth, I sleep every night since moving out of my old place.

Overwhelmed! Can’t stop smiling!!

I even stopped to take two pictures! 

Oh yeah, speaking of smiles! Today’s ROS rate was 18/23! πŸ˜ƒ yesterday’s morning run was so early I only got a 2/3, not many people running at 6:30 and my evening run was a 1/1 as I only came across a mountain biker on one trail. So, remember to smile when you’re out there!! 😊

Nostalgia time…

That’s me a few years ago, and yes both pints were for me! It’s a little dark but you can kind of see the spare tire around the middle, and the fatty cheeks. 

Or this one…

Compare to yesterday’s selfie…

Woot woot! Well that’s my Saturday. Have to see if I can move tomorrow, in which case mountain time! 

Be good! Happy trails! 

8 thoughts on “Run Eighty Five!

    1. Thank you! I have been paying greater attention to my diet so it seemed natural shift as much as possible towards lean foods. Done with red meat except for some special occasions maybe. It is funny looking at the old pictures. I recognise the guy and would even say I like him. He has a smile and seems friendly…but I don’t know who he is. He is not me. His thoughts are not mine. They are self destructive and negative. My new found mantra is “I will be stronger!” …and I am. I feel like a different person. πŸ˜ƒ
      Thank you for the very kind words. I was stressed about putting the pictures up but proud of the change I made! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Congratulations!! That is awesome!! And yes, you should be very proud of yourself… you’ve worked so hard!! Do tell me about this plant based protein if you have a second. I’m a protein girl and have to have protein with everything I eat, which basically boils down to chicken or an egg, or cheese, or PB. Do you make smoothies?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊😊
      It’s amazing how much protein you can get from plants. I especially love lentils. But also all the beans are packed with protein. Not to mention nuts. Rice. Quinoa. Oatmeal. Chick peas. The list goes on…
      I haven’t tried any of the powders that are on the market if that’s what you were wondering about. I should do some investigating into that lol!
      I have been making smoothies but just fruit based and some almond milk. That’s something I have fallen in love with in the last couple of months!! Almond milk is great! Anyway I am just rambling on here lol…I have much to learn but am totally open to the idea of increasing the ratio of plant to meat in my diet. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, cool! Thanks! I actually do eat all those thing so I guess I’m getting way more protein than I thought, lol! πŸ™‚ I do use a plant-based protein powder for after drinks which is really yummy… you kind of grow addicted to the taste, if you know what I mean, lol! You’re doing awesome Ben! Keep up the good work!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

