Uncategorized

New Year’s run and a poem

Just a quick post to wish everyone a happy new year! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! 

I really enjoyed taking a long and relaxing break for most of December but I am back on the run now. Went on a short leg stretching run during the Christmas break and just came back from a cold if invigorating 10k this afternoon. I was hoping the sun would show up but it never did, ah well it was about minus 3 Celsius and grey. The sky, the trees everything was grey. Not many people out on the trail so I guess lots of people must’ve partied the night way ๐Ÿพ.

In addition to continuing my running objectives -another thousand miles and two or three specific races- my literary objectives this year are focused more on creativity and writing. Enter poetry!

Poetry has been missing from my life, 2017 will be a year of poetry and I hope to share some great poems with you. A great piece from Sylvia Plath, perfect for new years day. I plan to tack on a favourite poem to the end of each post, some will be original others will be from books I have recently read. I know poetry is not everybody’s cup of tea, but I hope you give it a chance!! 

Resolve

Day of mist: day of tarnish

with hands
unserviceable, I wait
for the milk van

the one-eared cat
laps its gray paw

and the coal fire burns

outside, the little hedge leaves are
become quite yellow
a milk-film blurs
the empty bottles on the windowsill

no glory descends

two water drops poise
on the arched green
stem of my neighbor’s rose bush

o bent bow of thorns

the cat unsheathes its claws
the world turns

today
today I will not
disenchant my twelve black-gowned examiners
or bunch my fist
in the wind’s sneer.

Sylvia Plath. 

11 thoughts on “New Year’s run and a poem

  1. Hey Benjamin! Since I am reading a novel by John Irving (Until I find you) I want to tell you about it. Because I read the english original language, I do not understand every word and I am sure I miss a lot of the athmosphere Irving creates by his writing style – but anyway I would like to recommend it to you. Its my first Irving, but surely not the last.

    Not to forget: Happy New Year! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Margit! Happy new year! What a coincidence, I just read a book by John Irving “a widow for a year” I really enjoyed it and will happily get a copy of the one you are reading.
      Good job reading it in English!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, most of my friends are readers of english books, so I wanted to keep up with them. I also watch movies without synchronisation into german. Great improvement for my english. Next I want to read another book from Ray Bradbury. I read “Fahrenheit xxx” and “The illustrated man” both in German translation. Next will be “The martian chronicles”. If you read “Until I find you” let me know how you like it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back! I’m planning to go on a club run tonight but I’ve been avoiding running (or any activity – including blogging it seems) for weeks.
    Have a good 2017 ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

