Uncategorized

Saturday run, cat picture and a poem.

It was minus 7.5°C when I woke up this morning and I had been looking forward to a run all week so nothing was going to stop me. In all fairness I did keep myself busy catching up on washing dishes and doing laundry until the temp jumped all the way up to minus 2°C. Woot! Felt like spring time…um, no pas du tout! 

The hardest part was convincing myself to get on the bike and pedal to the starting point, this way I can have a longer nicer run along the river rather than slogging up and down the nasty hill and running along a four Lane road for a couple kms. 

The sun was out and the sky was relatively blue today as we had a good (though bitterly cold) wind blowing through town all day yesterday. At least it cleared the pollution up a bit. December was horrific for pollution levels in grenoble. There were all sorts of of plans in effect to reduce cars and free public transport three days in a row. One day the peak surpassed Shanghai! (Not the for the first time). If you are interested in following the pollution level in your area I use an app called plume.

Very happy with my run despite the cold. Ran 15k in an hour and a half, stretched my aching back and cleared my clogged up brain. That’s always a good thing, right!?

Gratuitous cat photo.

The Queen!

Today’s poem selection. A rather important poem for America in this time of divisiveness as we seem to have strayed so far from what America should be all about. Obviously the situation is very different from when Hughes wrote this poem, but it gives us something to think about as the message resonates after so many decades. 
I, too, sing America.
I am the darker brother.

They send me to eat in the kitchen

When company comes,

But I laugh,

And eat well,

And grow strong.
Tomorrow,

I’ll be at the table

When company comes.

Nobody’ll dare

Say to me,

“Eat in the kitchen,”

Then.
Besides, 

They’ll see how beautiful I am

And be ashamed—
I, too, am America.
Langston Hughes.

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend. 

9 thoughts on “Saturday run, cat picture and a poem.

  1. What a heartbreaking poem… although with hope for tomorrow.

    Well done getting out there in that weather! I can’t even! This past week we’ve been at about -7C and I can’t get warm, not even on the ‘mill! :O

    All hail the gorgeous Queen Koko!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very impressed by your determination – running in those temperatures. Brrrr! I managed a very slow 5k as tail runner at Parkrun trying to encourage (nay – bully) a reluctant child around and prevent her mum from giving up altogether. Fun times.
    Koko is very wise staying indoors. When will we learn…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I did pack on a couple extra kilos of mainly duck fat over the holidays so I know that if I don’t push myself it’s just going to get harder and harder. Nice of you to encourage the kid! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

