Uncategorized

Botched mountain run! Cat pic! Tao te ching!

Today’s attempt to run up the mountain was THWARTED! So disappointed! The path was just cover with ice, it was impassable and impossible! I tried two different approaches hoping to outsmart the elements but, alas, both ways were too dangerous to get over. 

That is the funniest climb to speed ratio ever! Ah well as I was already dressed for businesses and out I just altered my route and followed a (largely deserted) bike path along the river. Temps were in the negative zone and it was windy so let’s go with -138°C approximately.  Works for me! 

This part was in the shade and basically a wind tunnel!

Decided against going for a dip in the river!! 

As my afternoon classes were all canceled (why!? I don’t know!!) I tried to be as productive as possible by getting a haircut, running 10k and stopping at a bookshop were I picked up 3 used books. A small selection of poetry by Ted Hughes, Three Plays by Eugene O’Neil and A Son of the Circus by John Irving. It was a buy 2 get the third book free so I ended up paying 6€ for the lot. And of course the haircut just makes me even MORE BEAUTIFUL than usual so all in all a win for the afternoon. All that and a bag of chips.

Today’s meow pic. The Queen is having nothing to do with the cold!

My poetic passage for the day is from the tao  te ching. 

Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu – chapter 10

Carrying body and soul and embracing the one,
Can you avoid separation?
Attending fully and becoming supple,
Can you be as a newborn babe?
Washing and cleansing the primal vision,
Can you be without stain?
Loving all men and ruling the country,
Can you be without cleverness?
Opening and closing the gates of heaven,
Can you play the role of woman?
Understanding and being open to all things,
Are you able to do nothing?
Giving birth and nourishing,
Bearing but not possessing,
Working yet not taking credit,
Leading yet not dominating,
This is the Primal Virtue.
I love this book very much and have been drawn to it repeatedly over the years. The translation is by Gia-Fu Feng and Jane English. Chapter 10 was chosen for message about leadership. Obviously. 

To all my US friends, I wish you a day of peace, contemplation and friendship tomorrow. It is a difficult time for many, a period of transition that we have never experienced before. I won’t comment on what I think is good or bad but will instead focus on what I can do for others. Be kind, love, and keep on running. 

5 thoughts on “Botched mountain run! Cat pic! Tao te ching!

Leave a Reply

