Uncategorized

Mountain! Pics! Poem! 

Getting the month off to a good start. Went for a midday run and you guessed it went on up the mountain!

13k for 830 meters climbed. The path was packed with frustrated mountain goats lol! Word got out that the ice had finally melted so EVERYBODY went on a lunch run. Fortunately I headed out early and didn’t get myself all stressed out (as I do) about people trying to pass me on my mountain. I was running back downhill as most folks were going up. Lucky for them! 😆

My legs were feeling a little heavy and sluggish today. I was definitely not hydrated enough and was seriously over dressed for the temperature. Should have worn shorts and tee, not all the layers that I needed for the last several weeks.

Last night I missed the last bus that runs past my house so I had to walk the uphill part in the dark and kept hearing strange sounds!

Terrifying! Goofball much!? 

The Queen was sooo concerned about my lateness. Ha! 

Thinking more and more about a trip back to the good old USA this year, as it’s been six years since my last visit I am so overdue. Anyway, still in the planning phase but it made me think of this great poem by Billy Collins. 

Walking Across The Atlantic

I wait for the holiday crowd to clear the beach
before stepping onto the first wave.

Soon I am walking across the Atlantic
thinking about Spain,
checking for whales, waterspouts.
I feel the water holding up my shifting weight.
Tonight I will sleep on its rocking surface.

But for now I try to imagine what
this must look like to the fish below,
the bottoms of my feet appearing, disappearing.

-Billy Collins. 

14 thoughts on “Mountain! Pics! Poem! 

Leave a Reply

