Uncategorized

Sub 2hr 21k! Almond butter! Peas!? Poem!

Hey hey! What a day for speeeed! I put off my planned long run from yesterday to today due to very high winds and rain. Glad I did as there were some seriously mangled trees on the ground that I went past today. Fortunately I got out and back at the best time of the day as the rain has just started up again. 

Anyway, it was one of those runs that just felt right from the start and as I reached the 5k mark I realised that I had a shot of getting in under 2 hours, all the conditions were right, my legs were good my breathing was good and the weather was almost perfect.

I got my third best time ever at 1:57:50! 

Really happy with that one! My last long run with a push before a couple of upcoming races. I will still do a long run but I won’t be pushing it like today, need to save it for the big days! 

I have a 10.5k trail run with some elevation  (can’t remember off hand how much) that a student of mine organises in her village. That will be fun as it’s not too long a run. That’ll be on the 26th and the following week I have a 22k road race with 300 meters climb at the halfway way point. It’s entirely on paved roads so no technical difficulties just muscle power!! 

Post run snack of almond butter with applesauce on whole wheat. Tasty!! With a mug of peach mango tea to wash it down. Speaking of food, I discovered that Koko absolutely loves peas! I checked on the Internets and they said peas are fine for cats so that’s good. How did I discover this you ask?? Ha! Well I just happened to turn my back on my dinner plate which had a nice quantity of said legume on it and within 2 seconds there was a cat chomping away on them!! I have had cats before, and I have had peas before but don’t ever remember one the felines going ninja on my plate of peas!! Ah well, now I know to set aside a tea spoon for her next time I make some.

As I was running along the path today thinking of poetry, as one does of course, I decided that I have neglected the grandaddy of all American poetry, Walt Whitman and needed to make amends today. So without further ado…

The Ship Starting

Lo, the unbounded sea,
On its breast a ship starting, spreading all sails, carrying even
her moonsails.
The pennant is flying aloft as she speeds she speeds so stately-
below emulous waves press forward,
They surround the ship with shining curving motions and foam.

***

Happy Sunday everyone! 

13 thoughts on “Sub 2hr 21k! Almond butter! Peas!? Poem!

  1. woooo hooo! how fab! well done!!!!

    We had a German Shepard that LOVED grapes and watermelon… he used to salivate for them! The cats we have now can hear a can opener a mile off… we feed them cubes, but they know tuna comes out a can now and it doesn’t matter what can you even show them, the orchestra of meauows if almost deafening 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My old Siamese used to love curry, and the ghastly sausages from fish and chip shops in the UK. He was very odd. Clearly Koko has been taught the value of eating her greens 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ok… Of all cats in the comments section, mine are the only ones that don’t eat anything else but cat food. One of the love to lick butter and sometimes chocolate, but not more than a few licks…

    Great sub 2 half marathon again…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done with the speed run! Peas and kitties are a new one for me. My boxer goes bonkers for basmati rice and won’t leave me alone when I cook it. My bug loves pumpkin. And my Boston comes running for peanut butter. The cats just want cat food and steak.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

