Uncategorized

Fast run! New shoes bounce! Gummy bears! Poem.

It was a good day for speed. I broke down and bought a new pair of road shoes the other day and took them out for a spin this morning. I was long overdue for a new pair, and I still shouldn’t have spent the money but I figure I can eat lots of pasta next month. Still need to replace my trail shoes as well, but as I have a road race coming up in two weeks I got these…

Koko gave them a good once over and approved! Kalenji kiprun LD the new version of my old shoes…

Definitely got that new shoes bounce this morning! Also like the bright fluorescent color. It was my fifth sub 2hr 21k so I know it’s no big deal anymore, but it took me so long to get here I just can’t wipe the grin off my face. Next challenge is a sub 1h45m, pretty confident I can reach it probably in a race situation…

Oh yeah, I bought gummy bears at the store last night and stuck a half dozen in my pocket to eat during the run. I generally don’t eat anything when running but was hoping for an extra boost and I think it helped. We’ll see next time if it’s consistent. I can’t take anything with caffeine because…well…poop! I tried cereal bars a few times but they were too dry and not easy to unwrap, chew, swallow, put wrapper in bag…and keep running. So maybe gummy bears will do the trick! 

So, anyway 1:56:38 just 30 seconds off my 2nd fastest time, but a good 2 mns off the PB. 

Nobel prize winning poet Derek Walcott died a couple days ago so I dug around and found a poem I would like to share with you today. 

Midsummer Tobago 

Broad sun-stoned beaches.

White heat.
A green river.

A bridge,
scorched yellow palms

from the summer-sleeping house
drowsing through August.

Days I have held,
days I have lost,

days that outgrow, like daughters,
my harbouring arms.

-Derek Walcott. 

Happy weekend! Enjoy your runs! 

16 thoughts on “Fast run! New shoes bounce! Gummy bears! Poem.

      1. If you stuff the nuts inside the fruit if will work well. I.e. medjool dates with salted cashews inside. You can roast/spice your own cashews. I love the combination on a run, but then I don’t run that fast and don’t mind chewing 😁 … direkt Apples are nice as well and might be cheaper than dates or mangos. I think one can make them in the oven.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

