Uncategorized

Thursday thumping up the mountain! View from my office of my mountain! Poem.

While the temperature has taken a little drop this week, the skies remain blue and the air is (relatively) clean.

We switched our offices around a few weeks back, just across a square into a different building. It is a “World Trade Center”, they seem to be in several different places. I remember one in Baltimore that always made me chuckle as it was only about 30 floors. Well low and behold here I am in the Grenoble WTC, all NINE STORIES OF IT!!! Cracks me up…

But, I have a pretty darn awesome view of my mountain. 

That’s what I run up all the time. The first hump on the right is an old fort named the Bastille  (like the famous one in Paris, apparently we are not good at coming up with original names) the second one is Mount Jalla that is the part I go up to the most. When you see a graph that looks kinda like boobs it’s when I go up and down that section twice. The third point is Mount Rachais, a nice peak of around 1,000meters. I save that one for special occasions, ya know like a running date. Because nothing says awesomeness like two seriously sweaty people running their posteriors  off up an almost verticale km, they say romance is dead; I scoff at them.

Same view from a different window. Not a sight I will EVER be tired of. 

So, today’s lucky numbers are: 16k with 700 meters climbed! WOO-HOO. It took more out of me than I expected today. Must have had too many “apéritifs” over the last few days and that has taken its toll. 

As I bought the complete poems of Elizabeth Bishop last week, I will add a second work of hers to the post. 

Little Exercise

for Thomas Edwards Wanning

Think of the storm roaming the sky uneasily 

like a dog looking for a place to sleep in, 

listen to it growling.


Think how they must look now, the mangrove keys

lying out there unresponsive to the lightning

in dark, coarse-fibred families,


where occasionally a heron may undo his head,

shake up his feathers, make an uncertain comment

when the surrounding water shines.


Think of the boulevard and the little palm trees

all stuck in rows, suddenly revealed

as fistfuls of limp fish-skeletons.


It is raining there. The boulevard

and its broken sidewalks with weeds in every crack

are relieved to be wet, the sea to be freshened.


Now the storm goes away again in a series

of small, badly lit battle-scenes,

each in “Another part of the field.”


Think of someone sleeping in the bottom of a row-boat

tied to a mangrove root or the pile of a bridge;

think of him as uninjured, barely disturbed.

****

It’s almost Friday!! Happy soon to be weekend! 

9 thoughts on “Thursday thumping up the mountain! View from my office of my mountain! Poem.

  1. Great picture of your mountain. At least we now know what the booby pictures really look like now, hehe. And yes indeed, save the special peak for romance. On 2nd thought, no, don’t… 😂
    Lovely poem. I clicked the link to read about the poet, and very sad, what a tragic beginning to her life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s kind of sad that so many poets and artists live through so much agony, almost goes hand in hand to be able to create beautiful things that don’t seem to exist in their own lives. …and as far as the other thing lol its seems to be working, mountain goats have are weird like that! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a VIEW!!!! wow! reminds me of my office at the College in Cape Town when i lectured there… INCREDIBLE view of Table Mountain… MY mountain… oh how i miss that!
    Ha ha… ‘running date’… ARE IN LOVE BEN??? i can feel it in your writing!!! *winks*
    Have a FAB weekend
    x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

